bitsnbiteswithtina

I’m Going to the “ShesConnected Conference”

I am extremely pleased and honored to say that I have been invited to the ShesConnected Conference! This is a proud moment for me. The conference holds a lot of exciting and informative opportunities that I cannot wait to throw myself into. So many fantastic sponsors to meet and bloggers to engage with. When I saw my name announced, I didn’t know what to do first. Book a flight? Book a hotel room? Tweet everyone, text message my hubby (who was in a meeting at work) or what.

Knowing that I was selected based on these requirements fills me with pride. I want to thank ShesConnected for selecting me.

For any sponsors out there interested in participating in this fabulous event, I would be extremely grateful if you would consider me and my blog. It would be my pleasure to help promote your brand or product. To have help attending this conference would most appreciated. There is flight, hotel, taxi and meals. Anything would be a major help.

Thank you again to ShesConnected and to any sponsors that consider me!

Join in for the next ShesConnected twitter party #SCCTO. Currently scheduled for Aug 31th 8pm – 10pm est

August 22, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Thursday Plantation: Tea Tree Oil Organic Products – Review

Last week, I had the privilege of being sent a box of products from Abundance Naturally the Canadian distributor of Thursday Plantation Products. I had heard of tea tree oil but had never tried any products using it. So, the first thing I did was to find out what Tea Tree Oil is and where it comes from.

Apparently, tea tree oil is an essential oil that is from the leaves of “Melaleuca alternifolia”  a plant found in Australia. Historically, the leaves of the plant were used for tea and the oil from the leaves was used for medicine. Tea tree oil is found in a number of different products like creams or shampoos. People have used tea tree oil for acne, boils, eczema, dandruff and as an antiseptic. Tea tree oil has been used in a few clinical trials for acne, dandruff, fungal infection of toenails and athletes foot. They found significant improvements with those that used the tea tree oil as opposed to those that did not and found similar improvements to those that used another medicinal treatment!

“The scientific discovery of the plant’s virtues came in 1923 when the leading state government chemist, Arthur Penfold, tested the oil of the tea tree and determined its antiseptic action was about 12 times stronger than the widely used carbolic acid. Extensive clinical trials with medical and dental colleagues in London and Sydney led to glowing reports in the distinguished scientific journals of the day.

Indeed, the 1930’s and 1940’s saw tea tree oil widely acclaimed as a near perfect antiseptic, so much so that during World War II Australian soldiers were issued with tea tree oil in their first aid kits. The troops also sang the praises of tea tree oil’s insect repellent and anti-fungal properties. At home, it was put to an amazing spectrum of uses from shampoo, toothpaste and smelly feet to boils, acne and head lice.” From Thursday Plantation Website – Please see Abundance Naturally for Canadian Distribution.

Ok, now I was interested! A natural, organic and therapeutic product I can put to use in my daily routine. The first product I chose to try was the Tea Tree Lip Balm. I live in Calgary and it is extremely dry here. My lips seem to be constantly cracked and I go through a lot of products trying to remedy the situation. The 15ml size is perfect for tossing in your purse or jacket pocket. The first thing I realized, after smearing my lips, was I didn’t need the same amount of this lip balm as others I have used. You only need to squeeze a small amount on your finger and it smoothes on nicely. Next, was the smell. I’m not sure how to describe it except to say it’s a cross between medicinal and lemon. This quickly dissipates although you get the same kind of taste in your mouth when you lick your lips. The balm stays with you quite awhile. It soaks into your lips and removes that cracked, caked look. This is great! There is nothing worse than putting on a lip gloss or lipstick and having it look uneven or dry like you’ve been wearing it all day. After 24hrs, despite the taste, I knew I wanted to continue using this product on a regular basis. It actually seems to heal up the lips rather than just temporarily erase dryness!

Next on my list to try was the Tea Tree Antiseptic Cream. This is for relief of sunburn, fly and mosquito bites, minor irritations and dry skin. Well, you’ve come to the right place. We have had a good share of mosquitos in Calgary and the beautiful weather encourages a lot of outdoor time. This inevitably means minor sunburn to someone. Not to mention my 49 yr old dry skin. Of all of the products, this one seemed to have the strongest smell. I had the opportunity to test it on mild sunburn and found that it had a cooling effect. You do not need to use very much of this at all. I made the mistake of applying as I would any other cream and found myself trying to rub in excessive amounts of cream.

The following three items are simply terrific. The Liquid Filled Cotton Tips and the Antibacterial Spray are a must for your first aid kit! They are perfectly sized and convenient.  They have no real smell to them which is good as far as I’m concerned. I don’t want to walk around smelling like a medicine cabinet. The spray is an oily type but cleans and soothes scrapes and cuts. The Cotton Tips are my favorite! A quick snap of the top will cause a clear antiseptic liquid, containing tea tree oil and aloe vera, to seep into the cotton swab end. Rub gently on minor cuts and scrapes. Clean, quick, no fuss and no muss. Apply where you want it! Neither of these have a sting to them which is great for kids. I found them to be so handy. The soap is natural and organic. It’s a very raw soap and could use to be a little more rounded for kids hands. However, the bonus to this soap is little to no smell and a fantastic, creamy lather. It has the benefit of being an antiseptic soap and is safe to use on a daily basis.

All in all, I was very happy that Abundance Naturally gave me the opportunity to try some of their fabulous products. I have found some great new personal hygiene products and tools I can add to my first aid kit.

********************

Disclaimer: The opinions in this post are strictly my own. Although I received a package of product, no other compensation was given. 

August 22, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , | 1 Comment

   

